What's the meaning of the Ashoka Chakra »

Ashoka Chakra

This page is about the meaning, origin and characteristic of the symbol, emblem, seal, sign, logo or flag: Ashoka Chakra.

Rate this symbol:5.0 / 4 votes

The Ashoka Chakra is a depiction of the Buddhist Dharmachakra, represented with 24 spokes. It is so called because it appears on a number of edicts of Ashoka, most prominent among which is the Lion Capital of Sarnath.

According to Hindu religion, Puranas mentioned that only 24 Rishis wielded the whole power of the Gayatri Mantra. These 24 rishis in Himalayas are represented through the 24 letters of the Gayatri Mantra. All the 24 spokes of Dharmachakra are the representation of all these 24 rishis of Himalayas, in which Vishvamitra is first and Yajnavalkya is last who governs the religion (Dharma). Ashoka Chakra is a symbol of Dharmchakra and is also known as Samay Chakra in which all the 24 spokes represents 24 hours of the day and symbolizes the movement of the time.


Graphical characteristics:
Symmetric, Closed shape, Monochrome, Contains both straight and curved lines, Has no crossing lines.

Ashoka Chakra is part of the Buddhist Symbols group.

More symbols in Buddhist Symbols:

Have a discussion about Ashoka Chakra with the community:



    Use the citation below to add this symbol to your bibliography:


    "Ashoka Chakra." Symbols.com. STANDS4 LLC, 2024. Web. 20 Jun 2024. <https://www.symbols.com/symbol/ashoka-chakra>.

    We need you!

    Are we missing an important symbol in this category?

    Graphical Index

    Use our unique search feature to find a symbol based on its various graphical characteristics:

    • Symmetry:
    • Shape:
    • Colors:
    • Curveness:
    • Crossing:


    Are you a world flags master?

    A Laos
    B Benin
    C Slovenia
    D St. Vincent Grenadines

    Browse Symbols.com