Syracuse Chiefs Logo

 Aviv Ben Efraim
Syracuse Chiefs Logo

The Syracuse Chiefs are a Minor League Baseball team based in Syracuse, New York. The Triple-A affiliate of the Washington Nationals, the team plays in the International League (IL). NBT Bank Stadium, on Syracuse's northside, is the Chiefs' home stadium.

The first Syracuse Chiefs baseball team was established in 1934, when the International League's Jersey City Skeeters moved to Syracuse and were (re)named the Chiefs. The team played in the IL through 1955 (winning five championships), but was sold and moved to Miami as the Marlins for the 1956 campaign.

Another team known as the Syracuse Chiefs competed in the Class A Eastern League (then two levels below the IL) during 1956–57, but moved to Allentown, Pennsylvania on July 13, 1957.

Syracuse was without professional baseball until the 1961 season, when the Montreal Royals franchise was abandoned by its owners (the Los Angeles Dodgers) and relocated to Syracuse, becoming the Syracuse Chiefs.