Sheffield Wednesday F.C. Logo

 Aviv Ben Efraim
Sheffield Wednesday F.C. Logo

Sheffield Wednesday Football Club is a professional association football club based in Sheffield, England. The team competes in the Championship, the second tier of the English football league system. Formed as an offshoot of The Wednesday Cricket Club in 1867, they went by the name of The Wednesday Football Club until changing to their current name in 1929.

Wednesday are one of the oldest football clubs in the world of any code, and the third oldest professional association football club behind Notts County and Nottingham Forest, excluding clubs with informal or disputed foundation dates. In 1868 they won the Cromwell Cup, only the second tournament of its kind, and in 1877 they won the inaugural Sheffield Challenge Cup, the oldest County Cup in England. They were founding members (and inaugural champions) of the Football Alliance in 1889, before joining The Football League three years later. In 1992 they became founder members of the Premier League. The club has spent most of its league history in English football's top flight, but they have not played at that level since being relegated in 2000.

The Owls, as they are nicknamed, have won four League titles, three FA Cups and one League Cup. Wednesday have also competed in UEFA cup competitions on four occasions, reaching the quarter-finals of the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup in 1963.

Since 1899 the club has played its home matches at Hillsborough stadium in the north-west Sheffield suburb of Owlerton.