Flag of Mauritius

 Lynn Atchison Beech
Flag of Mauritius

The national flag of Mauritius, also known as the Four Stripes and Les Quatre Bandes (French for "the four stripes"), was adopted upon independence, March 12, 1968. It consists of four horizontal stripes of equal width, colored (from top to bottom) red, blue, yellow, and green. The flag was recorded at the College of Arms in London on 9 January 1968.

The civil ensign (for private vessels) and government ensign (for state vessels) are red and blue flags, respectively, each with the national flag in the canton and the coat of arms of Mauritius in the fly.

The naval ensign (used by coast guard vessels) is an unusual design consisting of red, white, and blue vertical stripes of unequal widths defaced by a central anchor/key emblem.

The flag of Mauritius consists of red, blue, yellow and green stripes which stand for:

Red: Representing the bloodshed at the time of slavery and colonisation.

Blue: the Indian Ocean, in the middle of which Mauritius is situated.

Yellow: the new light of independence shining over the island and the golden sunshine.

Green: the lush vegetation of the island.

© Symbols.com