Flag of Georgia

 Yigal Ben Efraim
Flag of Georgia

The current flag of the U.S. state of Georgia was adopted on May 8, 2003.

The flag has three red and white stripes, with the state coat of arms (taken from the state seal) on a blue field in the upper left corner. In the coat of arms, the arch symbolizes the state's Constitution and the pillars represent the three branches of government: legislative, executive, and judicial.

The words of the state motto, "Wisdom, Justice, and Moderation," are wrapped around the pillars, guarded by a male figure dressed in Colonial attire like a soldier of the American Revolution, with a drawn sword representing the defense of the Constitution. An additional motto, In God We Trust, appears under these elements, though it is not part of the state seal or coat of arms.

It is, however, the official motto of the United States. In the center of the canton is a circle of 13 white stars, symbolizing Georgia as one of the original Thirteen Colonies that later formed the United States of America. The flag's design is based on the First National Flag of the Confederate States of America, which is nicknamed the "Stars and Bars".

© Symbols.com