Faith Militant (alternate)

 Jesse Brauner
Faith Militant (alternate)

The symbol of the Faith Militant from Game of Thrones.


Based on George R.R. Martin’s famous series of novels (collectively known as “A Song of Ice and Fire”), the television series “Game of Thrones” first premiered in 2011 on the channel HBO. It is set in a fantasy world heavily based on the society and culture of the European Middle Ages. Two primary continents, known as Westeros and Essos, make up the bulk of the visible landmass in this world, with the former being featured in storylines much more frequently. While typical elements from fantasy stories, such as dragons and various forms of magic, are seen throughout the series, in the long run these generally take a backseat to the military conflicts, political machinations and family dynamics that are the principle focus of the story.

Religion plays a major role in Westerosi society, and the dominant religion throughout much of the continent is known as the Faith of the Seven. Introduced to Westeros 6000 years ago by the Andal invaders, the main figure of the religion is a single god that can take on seven different forms. Each form rules over specific areas of life and each is prayed to for specific reasons:

The Father: represents divine justice, and judges the souls of the dead*

The Mother: represents mercy, peace, fertility, and childbirth*

The Maiden: represents purity, innocence, love, and beauty*

The Crone: represents wisdom and foresight*

The Warrior: represents strength and courage in battle*

The Smith: represents creation and craftsmanship*

The Stranger: represents death and the unknown*

Aside from an established hierarchy of clergy, another major group within the Faith is their military order, known as the Faith Militant. When the series begins, the Faith Militant has been inactive for over 200 years, due to their disbandment by an earlier king. In season five of the series, however, there are re-established and have begun to be used by the crown to solidify royal authority over the population.

The seven-pointed star is the traditional symbol of the Faith of the Seven and can be glimpsed throughout Westeros. This particular version is used by the Faith Militant, and the more fanatical members of the order brand or cut this symbol into their flesh as a sign of their devotion.

Information courtesy of: