Church of Scientology cross symbol

 Lynn Atchison Beech
Church of Scientology cross symbol

Church of Scientology cross symbol

The Scientology cross is one of the principal symbols of Scientology. It is most often used to represent the Church of Scientology.

The cross closely resembles the Christian cross, but differs from it with the addition of four diagonal rays between the conventional horizontal and vertical arms. The eight points of the cross represent the eight dynamics in Scientology:

The Self

Creativity, sex, and procreation (family)

Group, society, community

Species survival (humankind)

Life forms in general



Infinity or Supreme being

The Church of Scientology says that "the horizontal bar represents the material universe, and the vertical bar represents the spirit. Thus, the spirit is seen to be rising triumphantly, ultimately transcending the turmoil of the physical universe to achieve salvation."